Click here to download Mobile App for Android

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS


Page Type

Motor Accident Claims Tribunal,



1.   Motor Accident Claims Tribunal was established on 2nd December, 1959 by Notification  No. M.V.A. 5957/39100-XII, Home Department, Mantralaya.  In the beginning, the  Tribunal was a part of City Civil & Sessions Court. Thereafter, by Government Resolution No. M.V.A. 5461/57745-XII dtd. 08/06/1962 independent Court was started at Jehangir Building, Kalaghoda, Fountain, Mumbai- 400 001. 

2.    An Additional Court i.e. Second Court Motor Accident Claims Tribunal for Gr. Mumbai was created in the year 1972 under Resolution No. MCT 1270/28813-I-XIIB, Home Department, dtd. 25/08/1972.

3.    The Third  and Fourth Courts were created in the years 1980 and 1983 respectively under Resolution No. MCT-1274/9 TRA 6 Home Department, dtd. 18/08/1980 and No. MCT/0182/6-TRA-6, Mumbai dtd. 20/05/1983, Home Department.

4.    In March-1987, present premises  9, Hazarimal Somani Marg, Opp. Chhatrapati Sivaji Terminus, Mumbai-1, were alloted to the Tribunal. 

5.   An Additional Fifth Court was created by Government Resolution No. 0901/1165/CR 117 in July 2002.

6.       Three further Additional Courts   i.e. Sixth, Seventh and Eighth  were created by Resolution No. MCT-0901/11651 Cr117 (B)/TRA-5 dtd. 02/12/2003.

7.         Due to lack of space, 4 additional Courts were functioning on 1st floor of the Annex Building, at the Court of Small Causes, Mumbai.   After some litigation, it was decided to bring all 8 Courts under one roof.  Accordingly, presently all 8 Courts are functioning at the present premises.  The present premises are owned by Government and are maintained by the PWD. The building is a sprawling single storied barrack like structure situated just opposite the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Mumbai. Presently, this Court is  housed in an area of about 6500 sq. ft. and co-exists with the State Human Rights Commission and the Consumer Commission.

Front Page: