Click here to download Mobile App for Android

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS


Page Type

District Malda was formed out of some portions of outlaying areas of Purnia, Dinajpur and Rajsahi District in 1813. Separate Treasury was established in the year 1832 and full fledged Magistrate and collector was posted in 1859. The District Judiciary of Malda was part of Sessions Division of Jalpaiguri. Full fledged District & Sessions Judge took over charge on 01.04.1956. The Sessions Division of Malda included the District of West Dinajpur and finally on 16.05.1983 the independent Sessions Division of West Dinajpur was established on 16.05.1983 by way of bifurcation of Sessions Division of Malda. This District has one Sub-Division i.e. Chanchal. The Court of Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate, one Judicial Magistrate and one Court of Civil Judge Junior Division at Chanchal was inaugurated by the then Hon'ble Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court, Mr. Justice J.N.Patal on 15.09.2012 and now those Court are functioning from Chanchal Rajbari.

Front Page: