Click here to download Mobile App for Android

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS


Page Type


  • Latur has an ancient history. It was home to the Rashtrakutas and was part of Ashok's empire. It was, over the centuries, variously ruled by the Satavahanas, the Sakas, the Chalukyas, the Yadavas of Deogiri, the Delhi Sultans, the Bahamani rules of South India, AdilShahi, and the Mughals. Later in the 19th Century it became part of the independent princely state of Hyderabad, earlier known as Naldurg tehsil. In 1905 it was merged with surrounding areas and renamed Latur tehsil, and became part of Osmanabad district.
  • After independence and the merger of Hyderabad with the Indian Union, Osmanabad became part of Bombay Province. In 1960, with creation of Maharashtra, it became one of its districts. On August 15, 1982 Latur was separated from Osmanabad to form a separate Latur district.
  • When Latur was in old Osmanabad district, the Court of Assistant District Judge and Additional Sessions Judge was established at Latur on 1st April, 1959. The Court was inaugurated at the auspicious hands of the then Administrative Judge Shri J. C. Shah. Previously, the said Court was in the rental premises of Municipal Council, Latur. Thereafter, a separate building was constructed for the said Court.
  • After bifurcation of old Osmanabad District, new Latur District came into existence from 15th August 1982. The New Court of District & Sessions Judge was established at Latur from 1st December 1982. The Court building constructed for Assistant Judge's Court was extended in the year 1983 and for the time being court of District & Sessions Judge was accommodated in the said building. The new District Court building was constructed in the year 1989 and since then the said Court is functioning in its own building.
  • There are Seven taluka courts in Latur Judicial District viz. UDGIR, DEONI, AHMEDPUR, AUSA, NILANGA, CHAKUR & RENAPUR. Apart from Latur District Head-quarter, Courts of District Judge & Additional Sessions Judge are set up at Udgir, Ahmedpur & Nilanga Taluka Court.
Front Page: