Click here to download Mobile App for Android

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS


Page Type

               Udaipur is a very important Sub-Division in the state of Tripura since the days when Tripura was a princely state once it was capital of Tripura. The famous Tripureswari Temple, also kown as “Matabari” and the historical Bhubaneswari Temple have added flavour to the cultural and religious flavour to Udaipur. In the 17th and 18th century of Christian Era, Udaipur was the capital of the Kingdom of Tripura and the beautiful lakes like Amar Sagar, Dhani Sagar and Jaganath Dighi reflect the Royal ambiance of the town. At present Udaipur is the headquarter of Gomati Judicial District ( formally known as South Tripura Judicial District). South Tripura District Judiciary (now Gomati District) was established with headquarter at Udaipur w.e.f 10.02.1981 and Mr. B.K. Bhattacharjee was the first District & Sessions Judge of the then South Tripura Judicial District. Gomati Judicial District started functioning w.e.f. 18.09.2014 and Mr. Ashis Pal is the first District and Sessions Judge of Gomati Judicial District. There is also a Judicial Court Complex at Amarpur under Gomati Judicial District.

              Udaipur has always been a great destination for the tourists because of its natural beauty, and the religious significance of Tripureswari Temple which was established by Maharaja Dhanya Manikya in the year 1501 A.D. The Tripureswari temple is one among the 51 “Shakti Piths” in the Indian sub-continent and attracts a spectacular gathering of the devotee on day of “Diwali”
       The Bhubaneswari Temple is also another prominent land mark and is closely identified with the historical aspect of Palace conspiracy involving members of the Royal Family, aptly reflected in the celebrated “Bisharjan” of Rabindranath Tagore still captivates the devout and the curious alike.

             With the formation of South Tripura District with headquarter at belonia, Gomati judicial District now comprises with three Sub-division namely Udaipur, Amarpur and Karbook.

Front Page: 
Set Order: