Click here to download Mobile App for Android

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS

District Profile

Page Type

District Profile

Before 15 August 1973 this district was the southernmost of the seven districts of the Jalandhar Division of the Punjab State. On that date, the new Ferozepur Division was formed and Ferozepur District became a part of it. The boundary of the present Ferozepur District on the east runs along the Moga, Faridkot, Mukatsar and Fazilka districts. On the North-east, the River Sutlej generally separates it from the Jalandhar and Kapurthala districts. The United Stream of the Sutlej and Beas generally separates it from the Taran Taran district in the north-west and farther down from Pakistan, with exception of some areas on each side of river. The Revenue district is divided into five sub divisions namely Ferozepur, Zira, Guruharsahai, Jalalabad, Fazilka and Abohar. Besides Sub divisions there are seven sub tehsils in district. The Ferozepur Sessions Division consists of Sub divisions namely Abohar, Fazilka, Jalalabad, Guruharsahai, Zira and Ferozepur as District Headquarter.

In July, 2011, Sub Division Fazilka has been formulated into a new District which will be having Jalalabad and Abohar as its Sub Divisions. But still, this District remains part of the Ferozepur Sessions Division.

Front Page: 
Set Order: